Book Review: Pragmatic Thinking and Learning

by EvanJPalmer

ahptl

I was looking to learn more about Agile practices and asked around to a few of my friends. One guy recommended Pragmatic Thinking and Learning by Andy Hunt.

http://pragprog.com/book/ahptl/pragmatic-thinking-and-learning

Funnily enough, I wouldn’t call this a book on Agile per se. It’s more like a discussion on some excellent ways of finding problems with your learning or productivity with the goal of being aware of them and correcting them.

Now, this is something that I’ve been looking for for a long time and was extremely happy to find it. I couldn’t recommend this book more highly – it’s full of excellent tips to make your brain work better and faster.

For me it also highlighted the importance of some things I am already doing (eg. blogging) and helped me solidify some ideas I’ve already had around situations in the workplace/learning – for example, defining skill stages of novices, advanced beginner, competent, ¬†proficient and experts, and the role and importance of each in the work place.

