First Shoot with Actors or The Importance of Story Boards

by EvanJPalmer

S4_Tobias_(02)

On Saturday we shot our first short with people who aren’t normally involved.

We had the regulars, plus two actors  I met at improv classes, and an extra cameraman. We also shot at a friend’s house, so we had some spectators too – people who had inconvenienced themselves by lending us their house as a location.

Because we had these extra stakeholders, I was super conscience of time.

There was one glaring mistake that came to light that day – I hadn’t planned my shots.

We had a solid script.
We had rehearsed.
We had all the props.
We had a charged camera
We had laptop for reviewing
We had lights
Audio was sorted

But we really should have story boarded storyboards, for two reasons:

Firstly to make sure we didn’t miss any shots. I haven’t finished editing yet, but I have a feeling that I’ve missed a few shots – mostly around the bit where I’m acting, so at least I can reshoot myself if I need, but with story boards, this wouldn’t be a problem,

Secondly so we could tell everyone how much longer was left without guessing. After a few hours of shooting people were getting bored and hungry. It was hard for me to guess how long we had left because I couldnt’ say, well, we’ve done about 50% of the shots. As a result, we rushed scenes towards the end, and they didn’t turn out as well as they could have.

Next shoot I won’t skimp on this important planning step.

