Build Current Project – Keyboard Short Cut for Visual Studio

by EvanJPalmer

I’ve got a nifty little short cut mapping that I’d like to share with you for Visual Studio.

Usually when you want to build your solution, you probably hit CTRL+SHIFT B… unless you’re a sick freak who prefers the laborious task of pressing the play button with the mouse (I once met one).

Now this is okay for small solutions, but if your application is a little beefier you can save some time by setting up your mappings like me.

I’ve got CTRL+SHIFT+B mapped to build the current project only (not the entire solution), and CTRL+ALT+SHIFT+B to do the entire solution.

The benefit of this is that when I CTRL+SHIFT+B to build my build time is much shorter than having to compile the whole project.

To set this up:

  1.  Tools -> Options -> Environment -> Keyboard
  2.  Put the cursor in “Press Keyboard Shortcut Keys” and shift CTRL+SHIFT+B
  3.  In Show Commands Containing, type: Build.BuildSelection
  4.  Select Build.BuildSelection from the drop down list and hit apply
  5.  Put the cursor in “Press Keyboard Shortcut Keys” and shift CTRL+ALT+SHIFT+B
  6.  In Show Commands Containing, type: Build.BuildSolution
  7.  Select Build.BuildSolutionfrom the drop down list and hit apply
  8.  ???
  9.  PROFIT!
